The Del Threadgill Distinguished Tax Professional Award

The Del Threadgill Distinguished Tax Professional Award

Since 2011, TTARA has presented the Del Threadgill Distinguished Tax Professional Award at our Annual Meeting each year.

This award recognizes the achievements of an employee whose work directly impacts his company’s tax liability—either in compliance, policy, legal or some other aspect of tax administration. The honoree shall have contributed to advancing the principles of fair state and local tax policy through participation in a professional tax organization, and must practice high standards of professionalism that are deserving of the recognition of their peers.

The award honors the late Delmer Ray Threadgill, former Chairman of TTARA and Vice President and Director of Tax Services at J.C. Penney Company. Del gave generously of his time to a number of tax organizations as well as his community, and alma maters. He was a graduate of Southern Methodist University, who honors him with a scholarship fund, and received a Master’s in Accounting from the University of Texas.

The 2018 Honoree will be announced at our annual meeting on September 28, 2018.

Previous award winners are:

2017 - Gene Doss,Tax Manager, Entergy.

2016 - John Valenta, Property Tax Manager, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation.

2015 - Bob Adair, Director, Property Tax, Phillips 66 Company.

2014 -Sam Gregson, Manager of U.S. Property Tax, B.P. America, Inc.

2013 - John E. Nichols, Dow Chemical Company.

2012 - Wayne Zakrzewski, JC Penney Company.

2011 - James F. Ramsey, CenterPoint Energy.